List of Past Monoposto Class Championship Winners

Year Mono F3 / FR2000 Mono 2000 Classic 2000 Mono 1800 Mono 1600
2019 Ashley Dibden (F3)
- [7]
Terry Clark James Rimmer Phil Davies Geoff Fern Jason Timms Dominic Shepherd
2018 Ben Cater (F3)
James Densley (FR)
Bryn Tootell Peter Venn Chris Lord Geoff Fern Geoff Fern Dean Warren Will Cox
2017 Chris Hodgen (F3)
James Densley (FR)
Bryn Tootell Ian Hughes Matthew Walters Geoff Fern Jeremy Timms Mark Reade  Neil Harrison
2016** Ben Cater Kevin Otway Robin Dawe David Jones Geoff Fern Jeremy Timms Richard Gittings Geoff Fern


Year Mono 2000 Classic 2000 Mono 1800 Mono 1600
(formerly Mono Kent)
(Prev 1200F)
(Prev. 1000)
Prev 1200S)
Tiedeman Trophy
2015 Robbie Watts Bryn Tootell Matthew Walters Geoff Fernv(1600)
Doug McLay[5]
 - Jeremy Timms Ewen Sergison
2014 Robbie Watts Daniel Hands Paul Britten Andrew Colebrook (1600)
Doug McLay[5]
 - Jason Timms Geoff Fern
2013 Robbie Watts Ben Cater Paul Britten
Marcus Sheard[3]
Adrian Heath  - Jason Timms Jim Blockley[4]
2012 Malcolm Scott Jim Blockley Ewen Sergison Nigel Davers Merged with 1000 to create MotoMono Adrian Wright
2011 Tristan Cliffe Peter Venn Pete Bragg Nigel Davers Geoff Fern Adrian Wright
2010 Tristan Cliffe Jeremy Goodman Pete Bragg Nigel Davers Geoff Fern Arty Cameron
2009* Neil Harrison
Graham Read [1]
Russ Giles Pete Bragg David Parkinson Chris Woodhouse Stephen Brooks
2008 Jeremy Timms Tristan Cliffe Pete Bragg Ewen Sergison Steve Cave Chris Vinall
2007 Mark Harrison Russ Giles (Cup)[2] Pete Bragg Geoff Fern David Tilson Steve Cave
2006 Mark Harrison Pete Bragg Geoff Fern Chris Woodhouse Arne Bornebusch
2005 Mark Harrison Geoff Fern Geoff Fern John Carding Arty Cameron
2004 Jonathan Lewis Jeremy Unsworth Jeremy Timms Richard Cottrill John Carding
2003 Jonathan Lewis Geoff Pashley J Johnsen R Horsfield C Robinson
2002 Jim Blockley Phil House Geoff Jones Frazer Corbyn J Green
2001 Robin Dawe Mark Drew Jason Timms Frazer Corbyn B Couchman
2000 Robin Dawe R Manger Simon Davey P Dittmann


Year A  B
Mono Kent
Class B
1999 Robin Dawe Simon Davey P Shipp
1998 Amanda Whitaker J Newman
1997 Amanda Whitaker Jim Timms
1996 Amanda Whitaker P Cocks
1995 C Stone P Cocks
1994 C Stone K Pashley
1993 F Phillips Jim Timms
1992 J Blockley D McVerry
1991 F Phillips R Algar
1990 J Blockley K Pope
1989 J Blockley K Pope
1988 G Whitehead C Fox
1987 J Bradshaw R Goodwin
1986 B Turner B Toleman
1985 B Turner S Bradley
1984 G Whitehead S Davey
1983 G Hall D Cox
1982 K Stone F Phillips
1981 T Broster F Phillips
1980 A Lowe
1979 J Pratt
1978 R Thomas
1977 C Jeans (The Streaker)
1976 A Baillie
1975 A Baillie
1974 A Baillie
1973 B Jordan   G Bowskill
1972 T Scarratt  M Irons
1971 C Featherstone  Brian Jordan
1970 B Toft  A Joy
1969 J Yardley  A Joy
1968 J Yardley  E Heasell
1967 J Green  B Jordan
1966 J Derisley  G Rae
1965 R Lee  D Havelock
1964 B Cooper
1963 T Ogilvie Hardy
1962 J Moore
1961 A Wershat
1960 T Goodwin
1959 F Tiedeman
1958 No Races  


The MonoXXXX naming structure was introduced in year 2000, replacing the three classes.  They replaced Class A, Mono Kent and Class B.  Class B for 1000cc cars ran from 1967 to 1973 inclusive.   Class B for FF1660 cars was introduced in 1981, Mono Kent grew out of that in 1985 and is now Mono1600.    After Mono Kents introduction, the class B moniker was used as a catchall for those who did not fit into Class A or Mono Kent regulations, including bike engined cars.

* 2009 saw several new classes introduced. Mono1000 and 1400 was introduced, replacing 1200 Standard and Free and allowed the Suzuki Hayabusa engine to be used.

[1] 2000 Formula was run as a separate class in 2009, but this was merged with Mono2000 for 2010 due to lack of support.

[2] In 2007, all Mono 2000 cars which were eligible for the forthcoming 2000 Classic Class competed for the Classic Cup, it became a separate class the following season (2008).

[3] Mono ZTEC was a class for Formula Ford Zetecs to be run in standard FF Zetec guise. Tyres were free, but everything else was as per standard FFZ regs. It was split from Mono1800 for 2013, but only attracted one new car, all other competitors were already racing within Mono1800. The classes were re-amalgamated for 2014.

[4] The Tiedeman Trophy was run as a series in 2013, and will run as an end of season mini-championship from 2014. The 2013 trophy was awarded to Jim as he took class win and fastest lap in all four races, but won the trophy on the tie breaker of being a member of the largest average class. Chris Dittmann and Jason Timms also matched Jim's results but their classes had, on average, fewer competitors.

[5] Mono DTEC was introduced in 2014 as a separate class for cars complying with Formula Ford Duratec regulations.  The Duratec era of professional Formula Ford was over as they had adopted the Ecoboost engine. Tyres were free, but everything else was as per Formula Ford Duratec regulations.   Poor uptake meant it was merged into Mono1800 for 2016.  The cars are still run as 'spec' cars but within the Mono1800 regulations.

**2016 saw a number of other adjustments to the class structure.     The 2000cc cars, formerly split over two classes were split into 3.   Mono F3, Mono2000 and Mono2000 Classic.   Mono F3 was effectively a rebranding of Mono2000, with that name being used for a new class to house the rapid F4 / US FF2000 cars that had recently dominated 2000 Classic, but some of the older F3 cars that were too new to fall into Classic, but were no longer competitive compared to the newer cars.

MotoMono was split into two following the domination of bike engined ex-F3 cars, usually Dallaras.  Mono1400 was for carbon tubbed cars of up to 1400cc capacity and any space framed cars that wanted to run larger capacity bike engines.   Moto1000 was for spaceframed cars such as the popular Jedi or Speads family cars up to 1000cc capacity.  Carbon tubs were not permitted in Moto1000.

[6] 2017 sees the launch of FR2000 - a class for the Tatuus built Formula Renault car used in the UK for many years, best known for the semi-professional Formula Renault BARC series.

[7] Following low uptake FR2000 is merged into the F3 class for 2019 season.

The class structure of any racing championship is built to promote close and fair racing against cars of similar specifications and speeds without forcing competitors into purchasing the latest specification chassis or engine, as the end result is too often"he who has the biggest chequebook wins".    The rules allow competitors to develop cars within limits; that being an aspect of Monoposto that has been part of its ethos since creation, and still allows competitors to compete in something they have designed and built themselves.   Occasionally classes are created to encourage cars that have for various external factors find themselves with nowhere else to race, a place to race with Monoposto.    The board monitors entries, looks at trends and the performance of cars, and adjusts the regulations and class structure accordingly.    The board recognises that despite best intentions, some classes have not taken off, resulting in some classes being merged.   To the best of knowledge, no car that was eligible, has been turned away following class mergers.

2017 Monoposto Championship